Home Fries

Not the most spiritual topic of conversation, but the making of homemade potato wedge fries for dinner tonight is its own small symbol of the changes made during the month run-up to Hekate Rising

As I discussed in the first post on this time, my diet has changed quite a bit as part of a physical, mental, and emotional cleansing of Self to prepare to be the receptacle of the divine in the rites. Dinner was already planned to be salmon burgers, and I’d been jonesing for French fries something hard. Store bought fries are out during this time because there is a heavy emphasis on going back to unprocessed foods and cooking from scratch, turning the act of eating from a mindless consumption of calories into a deliberate process of choosing and preparing foods as part of nourishing the physical being. So yesterday I grabbed a large bag of Yukon gold potatoes, knowing any satisfaction of the fry craving would have to come from my own kitchen. Tonight those beautiful tubers were carefully sliced into long wedges, tossed in olive oil and various herbs and spices, then baked in my air fryer/convection oven until crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. The air smelled amazing from the cumin, pepper, celery seed, and other bits seasoning those heavenly wedges as they cooked.

Making fries like that at home, they tasted like nothing I could have bought at the store, and they were so worth it. That’s the reward for following the restrictions, rediscovering the joys of making things from scratch and exploring how flavor and texture can be combined in fresh and tasty ways to turn what could be hardship into sheer delight. The fact that they will be healthier as well is a nice bonus. Hekate’s final instruction on the matter, that I could “eat nothing that you would not find fit to offer up unto me” was a bit daunting I admit. Once She made it clear that didn’t mean eating only foods traditionally offered to Her, but that the food itself must be good enough to serve the Gods were they guests in my home, turned even the mundane act of shopping into a sacred task.

As I go deeper into this time, more and more of daily life has become a deliberate, sacred act, something which I truly needed. Thank you, Boss.